Jul 20

Summer Reading, Disney Style – Kingdom Keepers Series

Well, it’s here, that much anticipated time of year for kids everywhere…..summer vacation! And now that we’re well into it, you’ve probably started to hear that favorite phrase of kids everywhere, “I’m bored!”. With temperatures on the rise, the kids may need a break from mid-day scorching heat. And since many schools encourage or even require their students to do some summer reading, we’d like to recommend a series of books that your kids might actually enjoy reading, Disney’s Kingdom Keepers, by Ridley Pearson.

The Kingdom Keepers series currently consists of 5 books that take place in various Disney parks and properties, including one of the Disney Cruise ships in the most recent book, Kingdom Keepers V, Shell Game. The main characters of the series consist of five young teens who are transported into the parks with some high-tech technology, as they strive to fight off some of Disney’s most famous villains who plot to overtake the various Disney parks. Here’s a more detailed summary of the first book, from the official Kingdom Keepers website:

The Kingdom Keepers – Disney After Dark

In this fantastical thriller, five young teens tapped as models for theme park “guides” find themselves pitted against Disney villains and witches that threaten both the future of Walt Disney World and the stability of the world outside its walls. Using a cutting-edge technology called DHI–which stands for both Disney Host Interactive and Daylight Hologram Imaging–Finn Whitman, an Orlando teen, and four other kids are transformed into hologram projections that guide guests through the park. The new technology turns out, however, to have unexpected effects that are both thrilling and scary. Soon Finn finds himself transported in his DHI form into the Magic Kingdom at night. Is it real? Is he dreaming?

Finn’s confusion only increases when he encounters Wayne, an elderly Imagineer who tells him that the park is in grave danger. Led by the scheming witch, Maleficent, a mysterious group of characters called the Overtakers is plotting to destroy Disney’s beloved realm, and maybe more.

This gripping high-tech tale will thrill every kid who has ever dreamed of sneaking into Walt Disney World after hours and wondered what happens at night, when the park is closed.

And if your a Disney fan yourself, you might want to read the books too. We’re currently on the third book, and since we can’t seem to get enough of all things Disney, we find them very entertaining. Who knows, it might even be something you and your kids can enjoy together. What better way to encourage them to read, than if you’re setting the example and reading too. And if you have one of those kiddos that’s difficult to convince, then turn it into a competition to see who can finish the book first, you or them.

Since the popularity of the series has grown, Disney has released an online game, as well as an interactive educational tour at the Walt Disney World resort called the Kingdom Keepers Quest. More information regarding this tour is available through Disney’s Youth Education Series.

If your family’s ever visited the Disney World Resort then this is a great series that your child can really relate to since it involves the actual characters and rides from the Disney movies and parks. And who hasn’t imagined what it would be like to be in the parks after hours and see what really goes on after dark?!? So if you’re looking for a fun family read, here’s a list of the 5 books in the series so far:

The Kingdom Keepers, Disney After Dark

Kingdom Keepers II, Disney at Dawn

Kingdom Keepers III, Disney in Shadow

Kingdom Keepers IV, Power Play

Kingdom Keepers V, Shell Game

For more information about the books and the author of this entertaining series, click the link below to be directed to the official Kingdom Keepers website:






Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: